Triennial review
The SCC reviews Phase I electric rates every three years under the statutory review framework.
Rate period: Three successive 12-month test periods ending before the review year.
Governing rule ↗VA · electric · PUR-2021-00171
Closed case·Complete·Utility request
No case narrative is published.
May 25, 2022
Not scheduled
Case stage
complete
Filed
Not recorded
Testimony
Not recorded
Hearings
Not recorded
Briefing
Not recorded
Decision
May 25, 2022
Rates effective
Current stage
State rules
This docket is a full base-rate review. Selected charges can change on separate schedules without reopening every issue in this case.
Full base-rate review
Triennial review
The SCC reviews Phase I electric rates every three years under the statutory review framework.
Rate period: Three successive 12-month test periods ending before the review year.
Governing rule ↗Between full reviews
Rate adjustment clauses
Project- and rider-specific
Virginia law permits separate rate adjustment clauses for approved generation, grid, environmental, and other investments. These riders operate independently from base rates and are reviewed in their own proceedings.
Governing source ↗Fuel factor
Separate periodic filing
The fuel factor passes prudently incurred fuel and purchased-power costs through a separate SCC proceeding instead of waiting for the next base-rate review.
Governing source ↗Current case economics
Filed request and any outcome captured in this docket.
| Metric | Utility request | Current case outcome | Like-for-like difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Annual revenue increase | Not available Not captured in current case sources | Not available Outcome not captured in current case sources | — |
| Rate base | Not available Not captured in current case sources | Not available Outcome not captured in current case sources | — |
| Return on equity | Not available Not captured in current case sources | Not available Outcome not captured in current case sources | — |
| Common equity ratio | Not available Not captured in current case sources | Not available Outcome not captured in current case sources | — |
| Residential bill impact | Not available Not captured in current case sources | Not available Outcome not captured in current case sources | — |
1 event · 2 documents · 2 citations
Material filings, hearings, orders, and effective dates.
May 25, 2022
Commission entered the final order approving the partial stipulation
official commission · completed
Docket and evidence documents linked to this proceeding.
SCC final order in Old Dominion Power PUR-2021-00171
evidence · direct · May 25, 2022
Virginia SCC 2021 Annual Report
evidence · primary · Aug 31, 2021
Field-level excerpts and review metadata supporting material facts.
SCC final order in Old Dominion Power PUR-2021-00171
commission final order · May 25, 2022
SCC final order in Old Dominion Power PUR-2021-00171
commission final order · May 25, 2022
Stage-preserving economics and party positions as published in the canonical record.
| Metric | Stage | Party | Period | Value | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Common equity ratio | authorized | Virginia State Corporation Commission | — | Not specified | |
| Rate base | authorized | Virginia State Corporation Commission | — | Not specified | |
| Return on equity | mechanism authorized | Virginia State Corporation Commission | — | 9.4% |