Triennial review
The SCC reviews Phase I electric rates every three years under the statutory review framework.
Rate period: Three successive 12-month test periods ending before the review year.
Governing rule ↗VA · electric · PUR-2024-00024
Closed case·Complete·Authorized
No case narrative is published.
Nov 20, 2024
Not scheduled
Case stage
complete
Filed
Not recorded
Testimony
Not recorded
Hearings
Not recorded
Briefing
Not recorded
Decision
Nov 20, 2024
Rates effective
Current stage
State rules
This docket is a full base-rate review. Selected charges can change on separate schedules without reopening every issue in this case.
Full base-rate review
Triennial review
The SCC reviews Phase I electric rates every three years under the statutory review framework.
Rate period: Three successive 12-month test periods ending before the review year.
Governing rule ↗Between full reviews
Rate adjustment clauses
Project- and rider-specific
Virginia law permits separate rate adjustment clauses for approved generation, grid, environmental, and other investments. These riders operate independently from base rates and are reviewed in their own proceedings.
Governing source ↗Fuel factor
Separate periodic filing
The fuel factor passes prudently incurred fuel and purchased-power costs through a separate SCC proceeding instead of waiting for the next base-rate review.
Governing source ↗Commission decision
Utility request and Commission-authorized outcome.
| Metric | Utility request | Authorized outcome | Like-for-like difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Annual revenue increase | Not available Annual utility request | Not specified Total company rate-case request or Commission-authorized outcome · Nov 20, 2024 | — |
| Rate base | Not available Not captured in current case sources | Not available Authorized value not captured | — |
| Return on equity | Not specified Total company rate-case request or Commission-authorized outcome · Nov 20, 2024 | Not specified Total company rate-case request or Commission-authorized outcome · Nov 20, 2024 | — |
| Common equity ratio | Not available Not captured in current case sources | Not available Authorized value not captured | — |
| Residential bill impact | Not available Not captured in current case sources | Not available Authorized value not captured | — |
Prior authorizations, mechanism values, actuals, and company projections are shown separately because they are not default like-for-like case comparisons.
Common equity ratio
authorized · Appalachian Power Virginia retail authorized capital structure; 51.8% debt and 48.2% equity. · Mar 31, 2026
48.2%
Rate base
disclosed actual · Combined APCo and Wheeling Power rate-base proxy across Virginia, West Virginia, Tennessee, and FERC wholesale operations. · Dec 31, 2025
$14,215M
Return on equity
authorized · Appalachian Power Virginia retail authorized return on equity. · Mar 31, 2026
9.75%
1 event · 1 document · 1 citation
Material filings, hearings, orders, and effective dates.
Nov 20, 2024
Final order issued
official commission · completed
Docket and evidence documents linked to this proceeding.
Virginia SCC 2024 Annual Report
evidence · primary · Nov 20, 2024
Field-level excerpts and review metadata supporting material facts.
Virginia SCC 2024 Annual Report
commission filing · Nov 20, 2024
Stage-preserving economics and party positions as published in the canonical record.
| Metric | Stage | Party | Period | Value | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Annual revenue change | authorized | party-commission | — | Not specified | |
| Annual revenue change | utility request | Appalachian Power Company — Virginia | — | Not specified | |
| Return on equity | authorized | party-commission | — | Not specified | |
| Return on equity | utility request | Appalachian Power Company — Virginia | — | Not specified |