Skip to content
RateBase
← All cases

MI · gas · U-21540

Michigan Gas Utilities — general rate case

Closed case·Complete·Authorized

Case summary

No case narrative is published.

Latest development
Final order issued

Sep 26, 2024

Next event
No scheduled event

Not scheduled

Case stage

Regulatory process

complete

  1. Filed

    Not recorded

  2. Testimony

    Not recorded

  3. Hearings

    Not recorded

  4. Briefing

    Not recorded

  5. Decision

    Sep 26, 2024

  6. Rates effective

    Current stage

State rules

Base-rate reviews and adjustment mechanisms in Michigan

This docket is a full base-rate review. Selected charges can change on separate schedules without reopening every issue in this case.

Full base-rate review

No fixed recurring interval

A utility files when it seeks a base-rate change. The MPSC's general framework does not impose a common annual or multi-year filing cycle, but it requires a final Commission decision within 10 months of the application.

Rate period: Filing-specific forecast, historical support, and standard rate-case schedules.

Governing rule ↗

Between full reviews

Power and gas supply cost recovery

Variable surcharge · annual reconciliation

PSCR and GCR surcharges recover fuel, purchased power, transmission, and gas-supply costs above the amount in base rates. Actual costs are reconciled annually after a prudence review.

Governing source ↗
View the full Michigan regulatory framework →

Commission decision

Economics

Utility request and Commission-authorized outcome.

MetricUtility requestAuthorized outcomeLike-for-like difference
Annual revenue increase

$17.58M

Annual utility request

$7.92M

Total company rate-case request or Commission-authorized outcome · Sep 26, 2024

+$9.66M

Rate base

$509.07M

Projected 13-month-average test-period rate base ending December 31, 2025 · Mar 1, 2024

Not available

Authorized value not captured

Return on equity

Not specified

Total company rate-case request or Commission-authorized outcome · Sep 26, 2024

9.86%

Authorized return on common equity for retail natural-gas base rates effective January 1, 2025 · Sep 26, 2024

Not compared: scope differ

Common equity ratio

Not available

Not captured in current case sources

50%

Authorized common-equity share of the overall capital structure · Sep 26, 2024

Residential bill impact

Not available

Not captured in current case sources

Not available

Authorized value not captured

Full docket record

1 event · 2 documents · 3 citations

View record
Last updated
Jul 20, 2026
Docket reviewed
Jul 20, 2026
Economics reviewed
Jul 20, 2026
Official documents
2
Evidence citations
3

Docket history

Material filings, hearings, orders, and effective dates.

  1. Sep 26, 2024

    Final order issued

    official commission · completed

Documents

Docket and evidence documents linked to this proceeding.

MPSC order approving the settlement agreement in Michigan Gas Utilities Case U-21540

evidence · direct · Sep 26, 2024

Open document ↗

Michigan Gas Utilities public exhibits in MPSC Case U-21540

evidence · direct · Mar 1, 2024

Open document ↗

Citations

Field-level excerpts and review metadata supporting material facts.

MPSC order approving the settlement agreement in Michigan Gas Utilities Case U-21540

final order · Sep 26, 2024

Michigan Gas Utilities public exhibits in MPSC Case U-21540

utility exhibit · Mar 1, 2024

MPSC 2024 Annual Report

commission filing · Sep 26, 2024

Raw observations

Stage-preserving economics and party positions as published in the canonical record.

MetricStagePartyPeriodValueEvidence
Common equity ratioauthorizedMichigan Public Service Commission50%
Rate baseutility requestMichigan Gas Utilities Corporation$509.07M
Return on equityauthorizedMichigan Public Service Commission9.86%
Annual revenue changeauthorizedparty-commission$7.92M
Annual revenue changeutility requestMichigan Gas Utilities Corporation$17.58M
Return on equityutility requestMichigan Gas Utilities CorporationNot specified