Skip to content
RateBase
← All cases

MI · electric · U-21488

Alpena Power — general rate case

Closed case·Complete·Authorized

Case summary

No case narrative is published.

Latest development
Final order issued

Jul 23, 2024

Next event
No scheduled event

Not scheduled

Case stage

Regulatory process

complete

  1. Filed

    Not recorded

  2. Testimony

    Not recorded

  3. Hearings

    Not recorded

  4. Briefing

    Not recorded

  5. Decision

    Jul 23, 2024

  6. Rates effective

    Current stage

State rules

Base-rate reviews and adjustment mechanisms in Michigan

This docket is a full base-rate review. Selected charges can change on separate schedules without reopening every issue in this case.

Full base-rate review

No fixed recurring interval

A utility files when it seeks a base-rate change. The MPSC's general framework does not impose a common annual or multi-year filing cycle, but it requires a final Commission decision within 10 months of the application.

Rate period: Filing-specific forecast, historical support, and standard rate-case schedules.

Governing rule ↗

Between full reviews

Power and gas supply cost recovery

Variable surcharge · annual reconciliation

PSCR and GCR surcharges recover fuel, purchased power, transmission, and gas-supply costs above the amount in base rates. Actual costs are reconciled annually after a prudence review.

Governing source ↗

Investment Recovery Mechanism

Utility- and order-specific

An approved IRM can fund specified distribution investments between general rate cases. Collections and actual spending are reconciled under the terms of the utility's Commission order.

Governing source ↗
View the full Michigan regulatory framework →

Commission decision

Economics

Utility request and Commission-authorized outcome.

MetricUtility requestAuthorized outcomeLike-for-like difference
Annual revenue increase

$3.96M

Annual utility request

$2.5M

Total company rate-case request or Commission-authorized outcome · Jul 23, 2024

+$1.46M

Rate base

$62.26M

Projected test year ended June 30, 2025 · Jun 30, 2025

Not available

Authorized value not captured

Return on equity

11.91%

Total company rate-case request or Commission-authorized outcome · Jul 23, 2024

9.85%

Alpena Power authorized return on common equity under the approved amended settlement. · Jul 23, 2024

Not compared: scope differ

Common equity ratio

48.88%

Projected test year ended June 30, 2025 · Jun 30, 2025

Not specified

The approved Alpena Power amended settlement states authorized ROE and overall return but does not state an authorized common-equity ratio. · Jul 23, 2024

Not compared: scope, period differ

Residential bill impact

Not available

Not captured in current case sources

Not available

Authorized value not captured

Full docket record

1 event · 2 documents · 4 citations

View record
Last updated
Jul 20, 2026
Docket reviewed
Jul 20, 2026
Economics reviewed
Jul 20, 2026
Official documents
2
Evidence citations
4

Docket history

Material filings, hearings, orders, and effective dates.

  1. Jul 23, 2024

    Final order issued

    official commission · completed

Documents

Docket and evidence documents linked to this proceeding.

MPSC final order approving the Alpena Power U-21488 amended settlement

evidence · direct · Jul 23, 2024

Open document ↗

Alpena Power U-21488 application exhibits

evidence · direct · Dec 11, 2023

Open document ↗

Citations

Field-level excerpts and review metadata supporting material facts.

MPSC final order approving the Alpena Power U-21488 amended settlement

commission final order · Jul 23, 2024

Alpena Power U-21488 application exhibits

utility rate application schedules · Dec 11, 2023

Alpena Power U-21488 application exhibits

utility rate application schedules · Dec 11, 2023

MPSC 2024 Annual Report

commission filing · Jul 23, 2024

Raw observations

Stage-preserving economics and party positions as published in the canonical record.

MetricStagePartyPeriodValueEvidence
Common equity ratioauthorizedMichigan Public Service CommissionNot specified
Common equity ratioutility requestAlpena Power CompanyProjected test year ended June 30, 202548.88%
Rate baseutility requestAlpena Power CompanyProjected test year ended June 30, 2025$62.26M
Return on equityauthorizedMichigan Public Service Commission9.85%
Annual revenue changeauthorizedparty-commission$2.5M
Annual revenue changeutility requestAlpena Power Company$3.96M
Return on equityutility requestAlpena Power Company11.91%