Skip to content
RateBase
← All utilities

Columbia Gas of Pennsylvania

Columbia Gas of Pennsylvania, Inc.

PA · gas

Current parent
NiSource Inc.

NI

Open cases
0
Updated
Jul 20, 2026

Current economics

Rate base
$3.83B

authorized · Dec 9, 2025

Source ↗
Authorized ROE
10%

authorized · Dec 9, 2025

Source ↗
Authorized common-equity ratio
54.4%

authorized · Dec 9, 2025

Source ↗

Oversight and service

Regulatory history

Effective dateProceedingROECommon equityRate base
Dec 9, 2025Columbia Gas of Pennsylvania general rate case

R-2025-3053499 · Fully projected future test year ending December 31, 2026 · Natural gas

Compare stages

ROE

Utility request 11.35% → Authorized 10%

Common equity

Utility request 54.4% → Authorized 54.4%

Rate base

Utility rebuttal $3.84B → Authorized $3.83B

10%

Authorized · Dec 9, 2025

54.4%

Authorized · Dec 9, 2025

$3.83B

Authorized · Dec 9, 2025

Nov 21, 2024Columbia Gas of Pennsylvania general rate case

R-2024-3046519 · Fully projected future test year ending December 31, 2025 · Natural gas

Compare stages

ROE

Utility request 11.75% → Authorized —

Common equity

Utility request 54.4% → Authorized —

Rate base

Utility request $3.49B → Authorized —

Authorized · Nov 21, 2024

Authorized · Nov 21, 2024

Authorized · Nov 21, 2024

Feb 19, 2021Columbia Gas of Pennsylvania general rate case

R-2020-3018835 · Natural gas

9.86%

Authorized · Feb 19, 2021

View full observation log (33)
MetricDateStageValueScope
Annual revenue changeNov 21, 2024authorized$74M/yearCommission-authorized annual base-rate revenue increase
Annual revenue changeMar 15, 2024utility request$124.14M/yearRequested annual base-rate revenue increase
Common equity ratioNov 21, 2024authorizedAuthorized common-equity ratio was not specified in the approved outcome
Common equity ratioMar 15, 2024utility request54.4%Requested ratemaking common-equity ratio
Annual revenue changeSep 5, 2025utility rebuttal$110.44M/yearRevised utility revenue request after the Blackhawk storage sale.
Common equity ratioMar 20, 2025utility request54.4%Requested common-equity share of ratemaking capital.
Overall rate of returnDec 9, 2025authorized7.82%Authorized weighted overall rate of return.
Overall rate of returnMar 20, 2025utility request8.55%Requested weighted overall rate of return.
Rate baseSep 5, 2025utility rebuttal$3.84BRevised requested FPFTY rate base.
Residential monthly bill impactDec 9, 2025authorizedRepresentative residential total-bill impact under the approved rates.
Residential monthly bill impactMar 20, 2025utility request11.38%Typical residential customer using 70 therms monthly; $138.52 to $154.29.
Return on equityMar 20, 2025utility request11.35%Requested return on common equity.
Common equity ratioDec 9, 2025authorized54.4%Authorized common-equity share of capitalization
Rate baseDec 9, 2025authorized$3.83BAuthorized FPFTY base-rate rate base
Return on equityDec 9, 2025authorized10%Authorized return on common equity
Annual revenue changeFeb 19, 2021authorized$63.5M/yearPrior authorized observation
Annual revenue changeApr 24, 2020utility request$100.4M/yearPrior authorized observation
Return on equityFeb 19, 2021authorized9.86%Prior authorized observation
Annual revenue changeDec 16, 2021authorized$58.5M/yearPrior authorized observation
Annual revenue changeMar 30, 2021utility request$98.3M/yearPrior authorized observation
Annual revenue changeDec 8, 2022authorized$44.5M/yearPrior authorized observation
Annual revenue changeMar 18, 2022utility request$82.2M/yearPrior authorized observation
Annual revenue changeDec 9, 2025authorized$55.6M/yearPrior authorized observation
Revenue changeDec 9, 2025authorized6.05%Prior authorized observation
Revenue changeMar 20, 2025utility request12%Prior authorized observation
Overall rate of returnNov 21, 2024authorizedAuthorized overall rate of return was not specified in the approved outcome
Overall rate of returnMar 15, 2024utility request8.71%Requested overall rate of return
Rate baseNov 21, 2024authorizedAuthorized rate base was not specified in the approved outcome
Rate baseMar 15, 2024utility request$3.49BRequested future-test-year rate base
Residential monthly bill impactNov 21, 2024authorizedAuthorized residential monthly bill impact was not specified in the approved outcome
Return on equityNov 21, 2024authorizedAuthorized return on equity was not specified in the approved outcome
Return on equityMar 15, 2024utility request11.75%Requested return on common equity
Revenue changeMar 15, 2024utility request15.79%Requested annual increase percentage