Skip to content
RateBase
← All cases

VA · gas · PUR-2024-00006

Roanoke Gas — general rate case

Closed case·Complete·Authorized

Bottom line

The final order uses a 9.90 percent ROE and 58.182 percent common-equity layer, but it does not specify an authorized rate base.

Case summary

The Virginia SCC approved a stipulated $4.08 million annual revenue increase for Roanoke Gas.

Latest development
Commission entered the final order

Apr 10, 2025

Next event
No scheduled event

Not scheduled

Case stage

Regulatory process

complete

  1. Filed

    Not recorded

  2. Testimony

    Not recorded

  3. Hearings

    Not recorded

  4. Briefing

    Not recorded

  5. Decision

    Apr 10, 2025

  6. Rates effective

    Current stage

State rules

Base-rate reviews and adjustment mechanisms in Virginia

This docket is a full base-rate review. Selected charges can change on separate schedules without reopening every issue in this case.

Full base-rate review

Application-based

Gas utilities file rate applications under the SCC's general rate-case rules rather than the Phase I and Phase II electric review schedule.

Rate period: Filing-specific schedules and supporting statements under the SCC rate-case rules.

Governing rule ↗

Between full reviews

No separate recurring mechanism is identified in the current state profile for this service.

View the full Virginia regulatory framework →

Commission decision

Economics

Utility request and Commission-authorized outcome.

MetricUtility requestAuthorized outcomeLike-for-like difference
Annual revenue increase

Not available

Annual utility request

$4.08M

Authorized annual base-rate revenue increase · Apr 10, 2025

Not compared: scope, unit, gross/net basis differ

Rate base

Not available

Not captured in current case sources

Not specified

Authorized rate base in the 2024 Roanoke Gas general rate case · Apr 10, 2025

Return on equity

Not specified

Total company rate-case request or Commission-authorized outcome · Apr 10, 2025

9.9%

Authorized ROE for earnings tests and expedited proceedings under the stipulated capital structure effective July 1, 2024 · Apr 10, 2025

Not compared: scope differ

Common equity ratio

Not available

Not captured in current case sources

58.18%

Authorized common-equity share in the stipulated capital structure effective July 1, 2024 · Apr 10, 2025

Residential bill impact

Not available

Not captured in current case sources

Not available

Authorized value not captured

Full docket record

1 event · 2 documents · 2 citations

View record
Last updated
Jul 20, 2026
Docket reviewed
Jul 20, 2026
Economics reviewed
Jul 20, 2026
Official documents
2
Evidence citations
2

Docket history

Material filings, hearings, orders, and effective dates.

  1. Apr 10, 2025

    Commission entered the final order

    official commission · completed

Documents

Docket and evidence documents linked to this proceeding.

Virginia SCC final order in Roanoke Gas Case PUR-2024-00006

evidence · direct · Apr 10, 2025

Open document ↗

Virginia SCC 2024 Annual Report

evidence · primary · Feb 13, 2024

Open document ↗

Citations

Field-level excerpts and review metadata supporting material facts.

Virginia SCC final order in Roanoke Gas Case PUR-2024-00006

final order · Apr 10, 2025

Virginia SCC final order in Roanoke Gas Case PUR-2024-00006

final order · Apr 10, 2025

Raw observations

Stage-preserving economics and party positions as published in the canonical record.

MetricStagePartyPeriodValueEvidence
Annual revenue changeutility requestRoanoke Gas CompanyNot specified
Return on equityutility requestRoanoke Gas CompanyNot specified
Common equity ratioauthorizedVirginia State Corporation Commission58.18%
Rate baseauthorizedVirginia State Corporation CommissionNot specified
Annual revenue changeauthorizedVirginia State Corporation Commission$4.08M
Return on equityauthorizedVirginia State Corporation Commission9.9%