Skip to content
RateBase
← All cases

VA · gas · PUR-2023-00008

Atmos Energy Virginia — general rate case

Closed case·Complete·Authorized

Case summary

No case narrative is published.

Latest development
Final order issued

May 13, 2024

Next event
No scheduled event

Not scheduled

Case stage

Regulatory process

complete

  1. Filed

    Not recorded

  2. Testimony

    Not recorded

  3. Hearings

    Not recorded

  4. Briefing

    Not recorded

  5. Decision

    May 13, 2024

  6. Rates effective

    Current stage

State rules

Base-rate reviews and adjustment mechanisms in Virginia

This docket is a full base-rate review. Selected charges can change on separate schedules without reopening every issue in this case.

Full base-rate review

Application-based

Gas utilities file rate applications under the SCC's general rate-case rules rather than the Phase I and Phase II electric review schedule.

Rate period: Filing-specific schedules and supporting statements under the SCC rate-case rules.

Governing rule ↗

Between full reviews

No separate recurring mechanism is identified in the current state profile for this service.

View the full Virginia regulatory framework →

Commission decision

Economics

Utility request and Commission-authorized outcome.

MetricUtility requestAuthorized outcomeLike-for-like difference
Annual revenue increase

Not available

Annual utility request

Not specified

Total company rate-case request or Commission-authorized outcome · May 13, 2024

Rate base

Not available

Not captured in current case sources

Not specified

The approved Atmos Virginia black-box settlement does not state total authorized rate base. · Dec 1, 2023

Return on equity

Not specified

Total company rate-case request or Commission-authorized outcome · May 13, 2024

9.9%

Atmos Virginia authorized return on common equity under the approved stipulation. · Dec 1, 2023

Not compared: scope differ

Common equity ratio

Not available

Not captured in current case sources

60.59%

Atmos Virginia authorized common-equity weight in total capitalization under the approved stipulation. · Dec 1, 2023

Residential bill impact

Not available

Not captured in current case sources

Not available

Authorized value not captured

Full docket record

1 event · 2 documents · 3 citations

View record
Last updated
Jul 20, 2026
Docket reviewed
Jul 20, 2026
Economics reviewed
Jul 20, 2026
Official documents
2
Evidence citations
3

Docket history

Material filings, hearings, orders, and effective dates.

  1. May 13, 2024

    Final order issued

    official commission · completed

Documents

Docket and evidence documents linked to this proceeding.

Virginia SCC 2024 Annual Report

evidence · primary · May 13, 2024

Open document ↗

SCC final order in Atmos Energy PUR-2023-00008

evidence · direct · May 13, 2024

Open document ↗

Citations

Field-level excerpts and review metadata supporting material facts.

SCC final order in Atmos Energy PUR-2023-00008

commission final order reproduction · May 13, 2024

SCC final order in Atmos Energy PUR-2023-00008

commission final order reproduction · May 13, 2024

Virginia SCC 2024 Annual Report

commission filing · May 13, 2024

Raw observations

Stage-preserving economics and party positions as published in the canonical record.

MetricStagePartyPeriodValueEvidence
Common equity ratioauthorizedVirginia State Corporation Commission60.59%
Rate baseauthorizedVirginia State Corporation CommissionNot specified
Return on equityauthorizedVirginia State Corporation Commission9.9%
Annual revenue changeauthorizedparty-commissionNot specified
Annual revenue changeutility requestAtmos Energy Corporation — VirginiaNot specified
Return on equityutility requestAtmos Energy Corporation — VirginiaNot specified