Skip to content
RateBase
← All cases

PA · electric · R-2024-3046931

PECO Electric — 2024 general rate case

Closed case·Complete·Authorized

Bottom line

The authorized stage shows the recurring $354 million revenue requirement and separately explains the temporary first-year credit.

Case summary

PECO Electric requested approximately $464 million in additional annual revenue. The Commission approved a $354 million revenue-requirement increase, with a one-time $64 million 2025 credit reducing the first-year net increase to $290 million.

Latest development
Authorized rates became effective

Jan 1, 2025

Next event
No scheduled event

Not scheduled

Case stage

Regulatory process

complete

  1. Filed

    Mar 28, 2024

  2. Testimony

    Not recorded

  3. Hearings

    Not recorded

  4. Briefing

    Not recorded

  5. Decision

    Dec 12, 2024

  6. Rates effective

    Jan 1, 2025

State rules

Base-rate reviews and adjustment mechanisms in Pennsylvania

This docket is a full base-rate review. Selected charges can change on separate schedules without reopening every issue in this case.

Full base-rate review

No fixed recurring interval

A utility initiates a general rate increase by filing a new tariff. It cannot file another general increase for the same service until the prior request is decided or its maximum suspension period expires.

Rate period: Case-specific; Pennsylvania law sets the filing and decision clock rather than a standard single-year or multi-year plan.

Governing rule ↗

Between full reviews

Distribution System Improvement Charge

Quarterly updates · annual reconciliation

An approved DSIC can recover eligible distribution investment between base-rate cases. The formula is updated quarterly and reconciled annually, subject to the utility's approved long-term infrastructure plan.

Governing source ↗
View the full Pennsylvania regulatory framework →

Commission decision

Economics

Utility request and Commission-authorized outcome.

MetricUtility requestAuthorized outcomeLike-for-like difference
Annual revenue increase

$464M

Annual utility request

$354M

Prior authorized observation · Dec 12, 2024

+$110M

Rate base

Not available

Not captured in current case sources

Not available

Authorized value not captured

Return on equity

Not specified

Total company rate-case request or Commission-authorized outcome · Dec 12, 2024

Not specified

Authorized return on common equity in the 2024 PECO Electric distribution settlement · Dec 12, 2024

Not compared: scope differ

Common equity ratio

Not available

Not captured in current case sources

Not specified

Authorized common-equity ratio in the 2024 PECO Electric distribution settlement · Dec 12, 2024

Residential bill impact

Not available

Not captured in current case sources

Not available

Authorized value not captured

Utility context

Prior authorizations, mechanism values, actuals, and company projections are shown separately because they are not default like-for-like case comparisons.

Annual revenue change

authorized · Prior authorized observation · Nov 18, 2021

$132M

Large Load Coverage Status

disclosed actual · PECO Electric large-load coverage · Jul 14, 2026

general_tariff_only

Large Load Coverage Summary

disclosed actual · PECO Electric large-load coverage · Jul 14, 2026

The reviewed current PECO Electric Tariff No. 8 includes general commercial and industrial rate schedules. It does not identify a separate dedicated large-load or data-center schedule.

Full docket record

3 events · 1 document · 2 citations

View record
Last updated
Jul 20, 2026
Docket reviewed
Jul 20, 2026
Economics reviewed
Jul 20, 2026
Official documents
1
Evidence citations
2

Docket history

Material filings, hearings, orders, and effective dates.

  1. Mar 28, 2024

    General rate application filed

    official commission · completed

  2. Dec 12, 2024

    Commission approved settlement

    official commission · completed

  3. Jan 1, 2025

    Authorized rates became effective

    official commission · completed

Documents

Docket and evidence documents linked to this proceeding.

Exelon fourth-quarter 2024 earnings conference call presentation

evidence · primary · Feb 12, 2025

Open document ↗

Citations

Field-level excerpts and review metadata supporting material facts.

Exelon fourth-quarter 2024 earnings conference call presentation

sec filing · Feb 12, 2025

Exelon fourth-quarter 2024 earnings conference call presentation

sec filing · Feb 12, 2025

Raw observations

Stage-preserving economics and party positions as published in the canonical record.

MetricStagePartyPeriodValueEvidence
Common equity ratioauthorizedparty-commissionNot specified
Annual revenue changeauthorizedparty-commission$354M
Annual revenue changeutility requestparty-utility$464M
Rate basedisclosed actual$8,855.6M
Return on equityauthorizedparty-commissionNot specified
Return on equityutility requestparty-utilityNot specified