Skip to content
RateBase
← All cases

PA · electric · R-2024-3047068

FirstEnergy Pennsylvania — 2024 general rate case

Closed case·Complete·Authorized

Bottom line

The consolidated outcome applies across four legacy rate districts, each of which remains separately discoverable on RateBase.

Case summary

FirstEnergy Pennsylvania requested a $502 million net annual distribution revenue increase across the Met-Ed, Penelec, Penn Power, and West Penn Power rate districts. The Commission approved a $225 million settlement.

Latest development
Authorized rates became effective

Jan 1, 2025

Next event
No scheduled event

Not scheduled

Case stage

Regulatory process

complete

  1. Filed

    Apr 2, 2024

  2. Testimony

    Not recorded

  3. Hearings

    Not recorded

  4. Briefing

    Not recorded

  5. Decision

    Nov 21, 2024

  6. Rates effective

    Jan 1, 2025

State rules

Base-rate reviews and adjustment mechanisms in Pennsylvania

This docket is a full base-rate review. Selected charges can change on separate schedules without reopening every issue in this case.

Full base-rate review

No fixed recurring interval

A utility initiates a general rate increase by filing a new tariff. It cannot file another general increase for the same service until the prior request is decided or its maximum suspension period expires.

Rate period: Case-specific; Pennsylvania law sets the filing and decision clock rather than a standard single-year or multi-year plan.

Governing rule ↗

Between full reviews

Distribution System Improvement Charge

Quarterly updates · annual reconciliation

An approved DSIC can recover eligible distribution investment between base-rate cases. The formula is updated quarterly and reconciled annually, subject to the utility's approved long-term infrastructure plan.

Governing source ↗
View the full Pennsylvania regulatory framework →

Commission decision

Economics

Utility request and Commission-authorized outcome.

MetricUtility requestAuthorized outcomeLike-for-like difference
Annual revenue increase

$502M

Annual utility request

$225M

Prior authorized observation · Nov 21, 2024

+$277M

Rate base

Not available

Not captured in current case sources

Not specified

Authorized rate base for the West Penn Power rate district in the consolidated 2024 FirstEnergy Pennsylvania base-rate settlement · Nov 21, 2024

Return on equity

Not specified

Total company rate-case request or Commission-authorized outcome · Nov 21, 2024

Not specified

Authorized return on common equity for the West Penn Power rate district in the consolidated 2024 FirstEnergy Pennsylvania base-rate settlement · Nov 21, 2024

Not compared: service, scope differ

Common equity ratio

Not available

Not captured in current case sources

Not specified

Authorized common-equity ratio for the West Penn Power rate district in the consolidated 2024 FirstEnergy Pennsylvania base-rate settlement · Nov 21, 2024

Residential bill impact

Not available

Not captured in current case sources

Not available

Authorized value not captured

Utility context

Prior authorizations, mechanism values, actuals, and company projections are shown separately because they are not default like-for-like case comparisons.

Large Load Coverage Status

disclosed actual · FirstEnergy Pennsylvania large-load coverage · Jul 14, 2026

general_tariff_only

Large Load Coverage Summary

disclosed actual · FirstEnergy Pennsylvania large-load coverage · Jul 14, 2026

The reviewed consolidated FirstEnergy Pennsylvania retail tariff covers the Met-Ed, Penelec, Penn Power, and West Penn Power rate districts. It does not identify a separate dedicated large-load or data-center schedule.

Rate base

disclosed actual · Combined FirstEnergy Pennsylvania distribution rate base after consolidation of the former Pennsylvania operating companies. · Dec 31, 2025

$6,900M

Return on equity

mechanism authorized · Commission-approved ROE for FirstEnergy Pennsylvania Electric Company's Distribution System Improvement Charge · Jun 18, 2026

10.05%

Full docket record

3 events · 3 documents · 3 citations

View record
Last updated
Jul 20, 2026
Docket reviewed
Jul 20, 2026
Economics reviewed
Jul 20, 2026
Official documents
3
Evidence citations
3

Docket history

Material filings, hearings, orders, and effective dates.

  1. Apr 2, 2024

    Consolidated general rate application filed

    official commission · completed

  2. Nov 21, 2024

    Commission approved settlement

    official commission · completed

  3. Jan 1, 2025

    Authorized rates became effective

    official commission · completed

Documents

Docket and evidence documents linked to this proceeding.

Pennsylvania PUC recommended decision adopted in the FirstEnergy Pennsylvania 2024 rate case

evidence · direct · Oct 15, 2024

Open document ↗

FirstEnergy Pennsylvania rate-case settlement

evidence · primary · Sep 13, 2024

Open document ↗

FirstEnergy Pennsylvania rate-case filing disclosure

evidence · primary · Jul 25, 2024

Open document ↗

Citations

Field-level excerpts and review metadata supporting material facts.

Pennsylvania PUC recommended decision adopted in the FirstEnergy Pennsylvania 2024 rate case

recommended decision · Oct 15, 2024

FirstEnergy Pennsylvania rate-case settlement

company webpage · Sep 13, 2024

FirstEnergy Pennsylvania rate-case filing disclosure

sec filing · Jul 25, 2024

Raw observations

Stage-preserving economics and party positions as published in the canonical record.

MetricStagePartyPeriodValueEvidence
Common equity ratioauthorizedparty-commissionNot specified
Annual revenue changeauthorizedparty-commission$225M
Annual revenue changeutility requestparty-utility$502M
Return on equityauthorizedparty-commissionNot specified
Common equity ratioauthorizedparty-commissionNot specified
Rate baseauthorizedparty-commissionNot specified
Return on equityauthorizedparty-commissionNot specified
Common equity ratioauthorizedparty-commissionNot specified
Rate baseauthorizedparty-commissionNot specified
Return on equityauthorizedparty-commissionNot specified
Common equity ratioauthorizedparty-commissionNot specified
Rate baseauthorizedparty-commissionNot specified
Return on equityauthorizedparty-commissionNot specified
Return on equityutility requestparty-utilityNot specified
Common equity ratioauthorizedparty-commissionNot specified
Rate baseauthorizedparty-commissionNot specified
Return on equityauthorizedparty-commissionNot specified