Skip to content
RateBase
← All cases

OH · electric · 24-0468-EL-AIR

Ohio Edison — 2024 general rate case

Closed case·Complete·Authorized

Bottom line

The case produced sharply different outcomes by service territory and a net consolidated reduction rather than the requested increase.

Case summary

FirstEnergy's three Ohio utilities requested a combined $190.3 million annual distribution revenue increase. After rehearing, the PUCO directed aggregate annual revenue reductions of about $5.3 million, effective March 1, 2026.

Latest development
Revised distribution rates effective

Mar 1, 2026

Next event
No scheduled event

Not scheduled

Case stage

Regulatory process

complete

  1. Filed

    May 31, 2024

  2. Testimony

    Not recorded

  3. Hearings

    Not recorded

  4. Briefing

    Not recorded

  5. Decision

    Nov 19, 2025

  6. Rates effective

    Mar 1, 2026

State rules

Base-rate reviews and adjustment mechanisms in Ohio

This docket is a full base-rate review. Selected charges can change on separate schedules without reopening every issue in this case.

Full base-rate review

Every three years beginning by year-end 2029

Effective Aug 14, 2025

Each electric distribution utility must file a distribution rate case by December 31, 2029 and at least every three years thereafter.

Rate period: A utility may use a conventional 12-month test period or propose three consecutive 12-month forecasted rate years with annual true-ups.

Governing rule ↗

Between full reviews

Transmission Cost Recovery Rider

Annual update

The TCRR passes approved transmission-related charges through a reconcilable rider. Utilities file annual updates under the PUCO's rider rules.

Governing source ↗

Electric Security Plan riders

Plan- and rider-specific

An approved electric security plan can include infrastructure, modernization, and other riders with their own update and review schedules rather than waiting for the next distribution base-rate case.

Governing source ↗
View the full Ohio regulatory framework →

Commission decision

Economics

Utility request and Commission-authorized outcome.

MetricUtility requestAuthorized outcomeLike-for-like difference
Annual revenue increase

$190.3M

Annual utility request

−$5.3M

Prior authorized observation · Feb 18, 2026

+$195.6M

Rate base

Not available

Not captured in current case sources

Not available

Authorized value not captured

Return on equity

Not specified

Total company rate-case request or Commission-authorized outcome · Nov 19, 2025

Not specified

Total company rate-case request or Commission-authorized outcome · Nov 19, 2025

Common equity ratio

Not available

Not captured in current case sources

Not available

Authorized value not captured

Residential bill impact

Not available

Not captured in current case sources

Not available

Authorized value not captured

Utility context

Prior authorizations, mechanism values, actuals, and company projections are shown separately because they are not default like-for-like case comparisons.

Common equity ratio

authorized · PUCO-authorized hypothetical Ohio Companies distribution capital structure. · Nov 19, 2025

51.2%

Rate base

disclosed actual · Ohio Edison distribution rate base at year-end 2025. · Dec 31, 2025

$2,000M

Return on equity

authorized · PUCO-authorized Ohio Companies distribution ROE. · Nov 19, 2025

9.63%

Full docket record

4 events · 3 documents · 1 citation

View record
Last updated
Jul 20, 2026
Docket reviewed
Jul 20, 2026
Economics reviewed
Jul 20, 2026
Official documents
3
Evidence citations
1

Docket history

Material filings, hearings, orders, and effective dates.

  1. May 31, 2024

    Distribution rate application filed

    official commission · completed

  2. Nov 19, 2025

    Opinion and order issued

    official commission · completed

  3. Feb 18, 2026

    Second entry on rehearing issued

    official commission · completed

  4. Mar 1, 2026

    Revised distribution rates effective

    official commission · completed

Documents

Docket and evidence documents linked to this proceeding.

PUCO second entry on rehearing summary

evidence · primary · Feb 18, 2026

Open document ↗

OCC FirstEnergy depreciation and deferral review scope

evidence · primary ·

Open document ↗

OCC FirstEnergy cost-allocation and rate-design review scope

evidence · primary ·

Open document ↗

Citations

Field-level excerpts and review metadata supporting material facts.

PUCO second entry on rehearing summary

commission order · Feb 18, 2026

Raw observations

Stage-preserving economics and party positions as published in the canonical record.

MetricStagePartyPeriodValueEvidence
Annual revenue changeauthorizedparty-commission−$5.3M
Annual revenue changeutility requestparty-utility$190.3M
Return on equityauthorizedparty-commissionNot specified
Return on equityutility requestparty-utilityNot specified