Skip to content
RateBase
← All cases

NJ · electric · ER24110854

Atlantic City Electric — 2024 general rate case

Closed case·Complete·Authorized

Bottom line

The tracker uses the $54 million incremental authorization and discloses the rider transfer separately to avoid overstating new recovery.

Case summary

Atlantic City Electric sought a $120 million base-rate increase, including an $11.1 million rider transfer. The Board authorized a $54 million incremental increase, with the rider transfer producing a $65.1 million total base-rate change.

Latest development
Revised base rates became effective

Dec 1, 2025

Next event
No scheduled event

Not scheduled

Case stage

Regulatory process

complete

  1. Filed

    Nov 21, 2024

  2. Testimony

    Not recorded

  3. Hearings

    Not recorded

  4. Briefing

    Not recorded

  5. Decision

    Nov 21, 2025

  6. Rates effective

    Dec 1, 2025

State rules

Base-rate reviews and adjustment mechanisms in New Jersey

This docket is a full base-rate review. Selected charges can change on separate schedules without reopening every issue in this case.

Full base-rate review

Case-specific; program deadlines can apply

New Jersey does not use one recurring base-case interval for every utility. Board-approved infrastructure programs can require the participating utility to file its next base-rate case within five years or sooner.

Rate period: Normally established in the utility's base-rate filing; infrastructure-program recoveries remain provisional until prudence is reviewed in the next base case.

Governing rule ↗

Between full reviews

Infrastructure Investment Program

Annual or semiannual recovery

A Board-approved IIP permits accelerated recovery for qualifying in-service infrastructure through a separate tariff clause. Rates are provisional and the utility must return for a base case no later than five years after program approval.

Governing source ↗

Major-event storm cost deferral

Event-driven · reviewed in a later case

A utility may defer qualifying incremental major-storm costs for later prudence and recovery review. Ordinary storm expense can remain covered by a base-rate allowance.

Governing source ↗
View the full New Jersey regulatory framework →

Commission decision

Economics

Utility request and Commission-authorized outcome.

MetricUtility requestAuthorized outcomeLike-for-like difference
Annual revenue increase

$120M

Annual utility request

$54M

Prior authorized observation · Nov 21, 2025

+$66M

Rate base

Not available

Not captured in current case sources

Not available

Authorized value not captured

Return on equity

10.7%

Total company rate-case request or Commission-authorized outcome · Nov 21, 2025

Not specified

Total company rate-case request or Commission-authorized outcome · Nov 21, 2025

Common equity ratio

Not available

Not captured in current case sources

Not available

Authorized value not captured

Residential bill impact

Not available

Not captured in current case sources

Not available

Authorized value not captured

Utility context

Prior authorizations, mechanism values, actuals, and company projections are shown separately because they are not default like-for-like case comparisons.

Annual revenue change

authorized · Prior authorized observation · Nov 17, 2023

$45M

Common equity ratio

authorized · New Jersey electric distribution common-equity ratio approved in Docket ER24110854. · Nov 21, 2025

50.24%

Rate base

authorized · Adjusted New Jersey electric distribution rate base approved in Docket ER24110854. · Nov 21, 2025

$2,285M

Return on equity

authorized · New Jersey electric distribution return on equity approved in Docket ER24110854. · Nov 21, 2025

9.6%

Full docket record

3 events · 1 document · 1 citation

View record
Last updated
Jul 20, 2026
Docket reviewed
Jul 20, 2026
Economics reviewed
Jul 20, 2026
Official documents
1
Evidence citations
1

Docket history

Material filings, hearings, orders, and effective dates.

  1. Nov 21, 2024

    Base rate petition filed

    official commission · completed

  2. Nov 21, 2025

    Board approved settlement

    official commission · completed

  3. Dec 1, 2025

    Revised base rates became effective

    official commission · completed

Documents

Docket and evidence documents linked to this proceeding.

NJBPU order approving Atlantic City Electric 2024 base-rate settlement

evidence · primary · Nov 21, 2025

Open document ↗

Citations

Field-level excerpts and review metadata supporting material facts.

NJBPU order approving Atlantic City Electric 2024 base-rate settlement

commission order · Nov 21, 2025

Raw observations

Stage-preserving economics and party positions as published in the canonical record.

MetricStagePartyPeriodValueEvidence
Annual revenue changeauthorizedparty-commission$54M
Annual revenue changeutility requestparty-utility$120M
Return on equityauthorizedparty-commissionNot specified
Return on equityutility requestparty-utility10.7%