Skip to content
RateBase
← All cases

MI · electric · U-22032

UPPCO — 2026 general rate case

Bottom line

The current filing would add $36.9 million of rate base above the last-rate-order level. UPPCO stated that new rates could be effective no later than March 22, 2027; requested economics are not authorized outcomes.

Case summary

UPPCO seeks a $17.3 million annual increase for a 2027 projected test year, including a requested $403.6 million rate base and 10.55% ROE.

Latest development
No completed event

Not scheduled

Next event
New rates expected by statutory window

Mar 22, 2027

Case stage

Regulatory process

filed

  1. Filed

    May 22, 2026

  2. Testimony

    Not recorded

  3. Hearings

    Not recorded

  4. Briefing

    Not recorded

  5. Decision

    Not recorded

  6. Rates effective

    Not recorded

State rules

Base-rate reviews and adjustment mechanisms in Michigan

This docket is a full base-rate review. Selected charges can change on separate schedules without reopening every issue in this case.

Full base-rate review

No fixed recurring interval

A utility files when it seeks a base-rate change. The MPSC's general framework does not impose a common annual or multi-year filing cycle, but it requires a final Commission decision within 10 months of the application.

Rate period: Filing-specific forecast, historical support, and standard rate-case schedules.

Governing rule ↗

Between full reviews

Power and gas supply cost recovery

Variable surcharge · annual reconciliation

PSCR and GCR surcharges recover fuel, purchased power, transmission, and gas-supply costs above the amount in base rates. Actual costs are reconciled annually after a prudence review.

Governing source ↗

Investment Recovery Mechanism

Utility- and order-specific

An approved IRM can fund specified distribution investments between general rate cases. Collections and actual spending are reconciled under the terms of the utility's Commission order.

Governing source ↗
View the full Michigan regulatory framework →

Current case economics

Economics

Filed request and any outcome captured in this docket.

MetricUtility requestCurrent case outcomeLike-for-like difference
Annual revenue increase

$17.3M

Projected test year ended December 31, 2027

Not available

No outcome yet

Rate base

$403.6M

Projected test year ended December 31, 2027 · May 18, 2026

Not available

No outcome yet

Return on equity

10.55%

Projected test year ended December 31, 2027 · May 18, 2026

Not available

No outcome yet

Common equity ratio

Not specified

Projected test year ended December 31, 2027 · May 18, 2026

Not available

No outcome yet

Residential bill impact

Not specified

Projected test year ended December 31, 2027 · May 18, 2026

Not available

No outcome yet

Utility context

Prior authorizations, mechanism values, actuals, and company projections are shown separately because they are not default like-for-like case comparisons.

Annual revenue change

authorized · Projected test year ended December 31, 2025 · Sep 26, 2024

$9M

Common equity ratio

authorized · Projected test year ended December 31, 2025 · Sep 26, 2024

50%

Rate base

authorized · Projected test year ended December 31, 2025 · Sep 26, 2024

$372.1M

Return on equity

authorized · Projected test year ended December 31, 2025 · Sep 26, 2024

9.86%

Full docket record

1 event · 3 documents · 3 citations

View record
Last updated
Jul 20, 2026
Docket reviewed
Jul 20, 2026
Economics reviewed
Jul 20, 2026
Official documents
3
Evidence citations
3

Docket history

Material filings, hearings, orders, and effective dates.

  1. Mar 22, 2027

    New rates expected by statutory window

    statutory deadline · conditional

Documents

Docket and evidence documents linked to this proceeding.

Michigan Public Service Commission e-Dockets case page for U-22032

official docket · primary ·

Open document ↗

Upper Peninsula Power rate-case summary - Case U-22032

evidence · direct · May 18, 2026

Open document ↗

Upper Peninsula Power rate-case summary — U-22032

evidence · direct · May 18, 2026

Open document ↗

Citations

Field-level excerpts and review metadata supporting material facts.

Upper Peninsula Power rate-case summary — U-22032

utility rate case exhibit · May 18, 2026

Upper Peninsula Power rate-case summary - Case U-22032

utility filing · May 18, 2026

Upper Peninsula Power rate-case summary - Case U-22032

utility filing · May 18, 2026

Raw observations

Stage-preserving economics and party positions as published in the canonical record.

MetricStagePartyPeriodValueEvidence
Common equity ratioutility requestUpper Peninsula Power CompanyProjected test year ended December 31, 2027Not specified
Overall rate of returnutility requestUpper Peninsula Power CompanyProjected test year ended December 31, 2027Not specified
Residential monthly bill impactutility requestUpper Peninsula Power CompanyProjected test year ended December 31, 2027Not specified
Rate baseutility requestUpper Peninsula Power CompanyProjected test year ended December 31, 2027$403.6M
Annual revenue changeutility requestUpper Peninsula Power CompanyProjected test year ended December 31, 2027$17.3M
Return on equityutility requestUpper Peninsula Power CompanyProjected test year ended December 31, 202710.55%