Skip to content
RateBase
← All cases

MI · electric · U-21555

UPPCO — general rate case

Closed case·Complete·Authorized

Bottom line

U-21555 supplies UPPCO's latest reviewed authorized ROE, equity layer, and rate base while the 2026 case is pending.

Case summary

The MPSC's September 2024 final order approved a settlement authorizing a $9.0 million annual increase, a 9.86% ROE, 50% common equity, and a $372.1 million jurisdictional rate base.

Latest development
MPSC approved the UPPCO settlement

Sep 26, 2024

Next event
No scheduled event

Not scheduled

Case stage

Regulatory process

complete

  1. Filed

    Not recorded

  2. Testimony

    Not recorded

  3. Hearings

    Not recorded

  4. Briefing

    Not recorded

  5. Decision

    Sep 26, 2024

  6. Rates effective

    Current stage

State rules

Base-rate reviews and adjustment mechanisms in Michigan

This docket is a full base-rate review. Selected charges can change on separate schedules without reopening every issue in this case.

Full base-rate review

No fixed recurring interval

A utility files when it seeks a base-rate change. The MPSC's general framework does not impose a common annual or multi-year filing cycle, but it requires a final Commission decision within 10 months of the application.

Rate period: Filing-specific forecast, historical support, and standard rate-case schedules.

Governing rule ↗

Between full reviews

Power and gas supply cost recovery

Variable surcharge · annual reconciliation

PSCR and GCR surcharges recover fuel, purchased power, transmission, and gas-supply costs above the amount in base rates. Actual costs are reconciled annually after a prudence review.

Governing source ↗

Investment Recovery Mechanism

Utility- and order-specific

An approved IRM can fund specified distribution investments between general rate cases. Collections and actual spending are reconciled under the terms of the utility's Commission order.

Governing source ↗
View the full Michigan regulatory framework →

Commission decision

Economics

Utility request and Commission-authorized outcome.

MetricUtility requestAuthorized outcomeLike-for-like difference
Annual revenue increase

$16.91M

Annual utility request

$9M

Projected test year ended December 31, 2025 · Sep 26, 2024

Not compared: scope, annualization, period, gross/net basis differ

Rate base

Not available

Not captured in current case sources

$372.1M

Projected test year ended December 31, 2025 · Sep 26, 2024

Return on equity

Not specified

Total company rate-case request or Commission-authorized outcome · Sep 26, 2024

9.86%

Projected test year ended December 31, 2025 · Sep 26, 2024

Not compared: scope, period differ

Common equity ratio

Not available

Not captured in current case sources

50%

Projected test year ended December 31, 2025 · Sep 26, 2024

Residential bill impact

Not available

Not captured in current case sources

Not available

Authorized value not captured

Full docket record

2 events · 0 documents · 2 citations

View record
Last updated
Jul 20, 2026
Docket reviewed
Jul 20, 2026
Economics reviewed
Jul 20, 2026
Official documents
0
Evidence citations
2

Docket history

Material filings, hearings, orders, and effective dates.

  1. Sep 26, 2024

    Final order issued

    official commission · completed

  2. Sep 26, 2024

    MPSC approved the UPPCO settlement

    official commission · completed

Documents

Docket and evidence documents linked to this proceeding.

No documents are linked to this proceeding.

Citations

Field-level excerpts and review metadata supporting material facts.

Upper Peninsula Power rate-case summary - Case U-22032

utility filing · May 18, 2026

MPSC 2024 Annual Report

commission filing · Sep 26, 2024

Raw observations

Stage-preserving economics and party positions as published in the canonical record.

MetricStagePartyPeriodValueEvidence
Annual revenue changeutility requestUpper Peninsula Power Company$16.91M
Return on equityutility requestUpper Peninsula Power CompanyNot specified
Common equity ratioauthorizedMichigan Public Service CommissionProjected test year ended December 31, 202550%
Rate baseauthorizedMichigan Public Service CommissionProjected test year ended December 31, 2025$372.1M
Annual revenue changeauthorizedMichigan Public Service CommissionProjected test year ended December 31, 2025$9M
Annual revenue changeutility requestUpper Peninsula Power CompanyProjected test year ended December 31, 2025$16.9M
Return on equityauthorizedMichigan Public Service CommissionProjected test year ended December 31, 20259.86%