Skip to content
RateBase
← All cases

MI · gas · U-21903

Xcel Energy Michigan — general rate case

Closed case·Complete·Authorized

Case summary

No case narrative is published.

Latest development
Final order issued

Dec 18, 2025

Next event
No scheduled event

Not scheduled

Case stage

Regulatory process

complete

  1. Filed

    Not recorded

  2. Testimony

    Not recorded

  3. Hearings

    Not recorded

  4. Briefing

    Not recorded

  5. Decision

    Dec 18, 2025

  6. Rates effective

    Current stage

State rules

Base-rate reviews and adjustment mechanisms in Michigan

This docket is a full base-rate review. Selected charges can change on separate schedules without reopening every issue in this case.

Full base-rate review

No fixed recurring interval

A utility files when it seeks a base-rate change. The MPSC's general framework does not impose a common annual or multi-year filing cycle, but it requires a final Commission decision within 10 months of the application.

Rate period: Filing-specific forecast, historical support, and standard rate-case schedules.

Governing rule ↗

Between full reviews

Power and gas supply cost recovery

Variable surcharge · annual reconciliation

PSCR and GCR surcharges recover fuel, purchased power, transmission, and gas-supply costs above the amount in base rates. Actual costs are reconciled annually after a prudence review.

Governing source ↗
View the full Michigan regulatory framework →

Commission decision

Economics

Utility request and Commission-authorized outcome.

MetricUtility requestAuthorized outcomeLike-for-like difference
Annual revenue increase

$2.18M

Annual utility request

$1.6M

Total company rate-case request or Commission-authorized outcome · Dec 18, 2025

+$0.58M

Rate base

Not available

Not captured in current case sources

Not available

Authorized value not captured

Return on equity

Not specified

Total company rate-case request or Commission-authorized outcome · Dec 18, 2025

9.8%

Total company rate-case request or Commission-authorized outcome · Dec 18, 2025

Common equity ratio

Not available

Not captured in current case sources

Not available

Authorized value not captured

Residential bill impact

Not available

Not captured in current case sources

Not available

Authorized value not captured

Full docket record

1 event · 1 document · 1 citation

View record
Last updated
Jul 20, 2026
Docket reviewed
Jul 20, 2026
Economics reviewed
Jul 20, 2026
Official documents
1
Evidence citations
1

Docket history

Material filings, hearings, orders, and effective dates.

  1. Dec 18, 2025

    Final order issued

    official commission · completed

Documents

Docket and evidence documents linked to this proceeding.

MPSC 2025 Annual Report

evidence · primary · Dec 18, 2025

Open document ↗

Citations

Field-level excerpts and review metadata supporting material facts.

MPSC 2025 Annual Report

commission filing · Dec 18, 2025

Raw observations

Stage-preserving economics and party positions as published in the canonical record.

MetricStagePartyPeriodValueEvidence
Annual revenue changeauthorizedparty-commission$1.6M
Annual revenue changeutility requestNorthern States Power Company — Wisconsin, Michigan operations$2.18M
Return on equityauthorizedparty-commission9.8%
Return on equityutility requestNorthern States Power Company — Wisconsin, Michigan operationsNot specified