Skip to content
RateBase
← All cases

MI · electric · U-21565

Xcel Energy Michigan — general rate case

Closed case·Complete·Authorized

Case summary

No case narrative is published.

Latest development
Final order issued

Dec 19, 2024

Next event
No scheduled event

Not scheduled

Case stage

Regulatory process

complete

  1. Filed

    Not recorded

  2. Testimony

    Not recorded

  3. Hearings

    Not recorded

  4. Briefing

    Not recorded

  5. Decision

    Dec 19, 2024

  6. Rates effective

    Current stage

State rules

Base-rate reviews and adjustment mechanisms in Michigan

This docket is a full base-rate review. Selected charges can change on separate schedules without reopening every issue in this case.

Full base-rate review

No fixed recurring interval

A utility files when it seeks a base-rate change. The MPSC's general framework does not impose a common annual or multi-year filing cycle, but it requires a final Commission decision within 10 months of the application.

Rate period: Filing-specific forecast, historical support, and standard rate-case schedules.

Governing rule ↗

Between full reviews

Power and gas supply cost recovery

Variable surcharge · annual reconciliation

PSCR and GCR surcharges recover fuel, purchased power, transmission, and gas-supply costs above the amount in base rates. Actual costs are reconciled annually after a prudence review.

Governing source ↗

Investment Recovery Mechanism

Utility- and order-specific

An approved IRM can fund specified distribution investments between general rate cases. Collections and actual spending are reconciled under the terms of the utility's Commission order.

Governing source ↗
View the full Michigan regulatory framework →

Commission decision

Economics

Utility request and Commission-authorized outcome.

MetricUtility requestAuthorized outcomeLike-for-like difference
Annual revenue increase

Not available

Annual utility request

Not specified

Total company rate-case request or Commission-authorized outcome · Dec 19, 2024

Rate base

$84.11M

Projected test year ended December 31, 2025 · Dec 31, 2025

Not available

Authorized value not captured

Return on equity

Not specified

Total company rate-case request or Commission-authorized outcome · Dec 19, 2024

Not specified

Total company rate-case request or Commission-authorized outcome · Dec 19, 2024

Common equity ratio

Not available

Not captured in current case sources

Not available

Authorized value not captured

Residential bill impact

Not available

Not captured in current case sources

Not available

Authorized value not captured

Utility context

Prior authorizations, mechanism values, actuals, and company projections are shown separately because they are not default like-for-like case comparisons.

Common equity ratio

authorized · Northern States Power Wisconsin Michigan electric capital structure. · Dec 19, 2024

50%

Return on equity

authorized · Northern States Power Wisconsin Michigan electric rates for 2025 and 2026. · Dec 19, 2024

9.8%

Full docket record

1 event · 2 documents · 2 citations

View record
Last updated
Jul 20, 2026
Docket reviewed
Jul 20, 2026
Economics reviewed
Jul 20, 2026
Official documents
2
Evidence citations
2

Docket history

Material filings, hearings, orders, and effective dates.

  1. Dec 19, 2024

    Final order issued

    official commission · completed

Documents

Docket and evidence documents linked to this proceeding.

MPSC 2024 Annual Report

evidence · primary · Dec 19, 2024

Open document ↗

NSP-W Michigan electric rate case summary

evidence · direct · Jun 24, 2024

Open document ↗

Citations

Field-level excerpts and review metadata supporting material facts.

NSP-W Michigan electric rate case summary

utility rate case summary · Jun 24, 2024

MPSC 2024 Annual Report

commission filing · Dec 19, 2024

Raw observations

Stage-preserving economics and party positions as published in the canonical record.

MetricStagePartyPeriodValueEvidence
Rate baseutility requestNorthern States Power Company — Wisconsin, Michigan operationsProjected test year ended December 31, 2025$84.11M
Annual revenue changeauthorizedparty-commissionNot specified
Annual revenue changeutility requestNorthern States Power Company — Wisconsin, Michigan operationsNot specified
Return on equityauthorizedparty-commissionNot specified
Return on equityutility requestNorthern States Power Company — Wisconsin, Michigan operationsNot specified