Skip to content
RateBase
← All cases

TX · electric · 56211

CenterPoint Houston Electric — general rate case

Closed case·Complete·Authorized

Case summary

No case narrative is published.

Latest development
Final order issued

Mar 13, 2025

Next event
No scheduled event

Not scheduled

Case stage

Regulatory process

complete

  1. Filed

    Not recorded

  2. Testimony

    Not recorded

  3. Hearings

    Not recorded

  4. Briefing

    Not recorded

  5. Decision

    Mar 13, 2025

  6. Rates effective

    Current stage

State rules

Base-rate reviews and adjustment mechanisms in Texas

This docket is a full base-rate review. Selected charges can change on separate schedules without reopening every issue in this case.

Full base-rate review

At least every four years

A regulated electric utility generally must initiate a comprehensive base-rate proceeding at least once every four years, subject to the statutory waiver process.

Rate period: Historical test year in the comprehensive rate filing.

Governing rule ↗

Between full reviews

Distribution Cost Recovery Factor

Up to twice per year

A DCRF updates distribution rates for eligible capital investment placed in service since the last comprehensive rate case. The investment is reconciled in a later base-rate proceeding.

Governing source ↗
View the full Texas regulatory framework →

Commission decision

Economics

Utility request and Commission-authorized outcome.

MetricUtility requestAuthorized outcomeLike-for-like difference
Annual revenue increase

Not available

Annual utility request

Not specified

Total company rate-case request or Commission-authorized outcome · Mar 13, 2025

Rate base

Not available

Not captured in current case sources

Not available

Authorized value not captured

Return on equity

Not specified

Total company rate-case request or Commission-authorized outcome · Mar 13, 2025

Not specified

Total company rate-case request or Commission-authorized outcome · Mar 13, 2025

Common equity ratio

Not available

Not captured in current case sources

Not available

Authorized value not captured

Residential bill impact

Not available

Not captured in current case sources

Not available

Authorized value not captured

Utility context

Prior authorizations, mechanism values, actuals, and company projections are shown separately because they are not default like-for-like case comparisons.

Common equity ratio

authorized · Authorized Houston Electric transmission and distribution capital structure. · Apr 1, 2026

43.25%

Rate base

company projected · Total Houston Electric transmission and distribution rate base; company notes it is not limited to amounts reflected in rates. · Dec 31, 2025

$16,137M

Return on equity

authorized · Houston Electric transmission and distribution. · Apr 1, 2026

9.65%

Full docket record

1 event · 1 document · 1 citation

View record
Last updated
Jul 20, 2026
Docket reviewed
Jul 20, 2026
Economics reviewed
Jul 20, 2026
Official documents
1
Evidence citations
1

Docket history

Material filings, hearings, orders, and effective dates.

  1. Mar 13, 2025

    Final order issued

    official commission · completed

Documents

Docket and evidence documents linked to this proceeding.

PUCT filing interchange for Docket 56211

evidence · primary · Mar 13, 2025

Open document ↗

Citations

Field-level excerpts and review metadata supporting material facts.

PUCT filing interchange for Docket 56211

commission filing · Mar 13, 2025

Raw observations

Stage-preserving economics and party positions as published in the canonical record.

MetricStagePartyPeriodValueEvidence
Annual revenue changeauthorizedparty-commissionNot specified
Annual revenue changeutility requestCenterPoint Energy Houston Electric, LLCNot specified
Return on equityauthorizedparty-commissionNot specified
Return on equityutility requestCenterPoint Energy Houston Electric, LLCNot specified