Skip to content
RateBase
← All cases

PA · electric · R-2025-3057164

PPL Electric — 2025 general rate case

Bottom line

The authorized revenue increase is below the request. The settlement did not state one authorized ROE; 9.4% is a CAUSE-PA estimate, not a Commission award.

Case summary

PPL Electric requested a $356.27 million annual distribution revenue increase. The Commission authorized approximately $275 million, rates became effective July 1, 2026, and reconsideration remains pending after a July 8 procedural order.

Latest development
Reconsideration granted pending merits review

Jul 8, 2026

Next event
No scheduled event

Not scheduled

Case stage

Regulatory process

post order

  1. Filed

    Aug 29, 2025

  2. Testimony

    Not recorded

  3. Hearings

    Not recorded

  4. Briefing

    Not recorded

  5. Decision

    Jun 11, 2026

  6. Rates effective

    Jul 1, 2026

State rules

Base-rate reviews and adjustment mechanisms in Pennsylvania

This docket is a full base-rate review. Selected charges can change on separate schedules without reopening every issue in this case.

Full base-rate review

No fixed recurring interval

A utility initiates a general rate increase by filing a new tariff. It cannot file another general increase for the same service until the prior request is decided or its maximum suspension period expires.

Rate period: Case-specific; Pennsylvania law sets the filing and decision clock rather than a standard single-year or multi-year plan.

Governing rule ↗

Between full reviews

Distribution System Improvement Charge

Quarterly updates · annual reconciliation

An approved DSIC can recover eligible distribution investment between base-rate cases. The formula is updated quarterly and reconciled annually, subject to the utility's approved long-term infrastructure plan.

Governing source ↗
View the full Pennsylvania regulatory framework →

Commission decision

Economics

Utility request and Commission-authorized outcome.

MetricUtility requestAuthorized outcomeLike-for-like difference
Annual revenue increase

$356.27M

Annual utility request

$275M

electric distribution base rates · Jun 11, 2026

+$81.27M

Rate base

Not available

Not captured in current case sources

Not specified

Fully projected future test year ending June 30, 2027 · Jun 11, 2026

Return on equity

11.3%

proposed common equity return · Sep 30, 2025

Not specified

Commission-authorized return on equity · Jun 11, 2026

Common equity ratio

56.05%

proposed ratemaking capital structure · Sep 30, 2025

Not specified

Authorized common-equity layer in the Commission-approved black-box settlement. · Jun 11, 2026

Not compared: scope differ

Residential bill impact

Not available

Not captured in current case sources

Not available

Authorized value not captured

Party positions

MetricPartyPosition
Annual revenue change

Settlement

electric distribution base rates · Mar 13, 2026

$275M
Residential monthly bill impact

Settlement

Fully projected future test year ending June 30, 2027 · Apr 1, 2026

4.9%
Return on equity

Other intervenor

CAUSE-PA estimate of effective settlement ROE; upper bound · Mar 20, 2026

9.4%

Utility context

Prior authorizations, mechanism values, actuals, and company projections are shown separately because they are not default like-for-like case comparisons.

Large Load Coverage Status

disclosed actual · PPL Electric large-load coverage · Jul 14, 2026

dedicated_tariff_effective

Large Load Coverage Summary

disclosed actual · PPL Electric large-load coverage · Jul 14, 2026

PPL Electric has an effective dedicated large-load schedule, Rate Schedule LP-6. Its reviewed eligibility and service terms are published separately in this tracker.

Rate base

company projected · Pennsylvania electric distribution rate base projected at 2025 year-end. · Dec 31, 2025

$11,100M

Return on equity

mechanism authorized · Distribution System Improvement Charge cost of equity; the last distribution base-rate-case ROE was undisclosed. · Oct 23, 2025

10.05%

Full docket record

12 events · 13 documents · 13 citations

View record
Last updated
Jul 20, 2026
Docket reviewed
Jul 20, 2026
Economics reviewed
Jul 20, 2026
Official documents
13
Evidence citations
13

Docket history

Material filings, hearings, orders, and effective dates.

  1. Aug 29, 2025

    Case record received by Commission

    official commission · completed

  2. Sep 30, 2025

    Proposed tariffs filed

    official commission · completed

  3. Dec 1, 2025

    Proposed tariff effective date

    utility guidance · completed

  4. Mar 13, 2026

    Non-unanimous settlement filed

    official commission · completed

  5. Jun 4, 2026

    Commission acted at public meeting

    official commission · completed

  6. Jun 4, 2026

    Rewrite opinion and order adopted

    official commission · completed

  7. Jun 11, 2026

    Rewrite opinion and order entered

    official commission · completed

  8. Jun 11, 2026

    Final opinion and order entered

    official commission · completed

  9. Jun 26, 2026

    Petition for reconsideration and clarification filed

    official commission · completed

  10. Jul 1, 2026

    PPL Electric Rate Schedule LP-6

    official commission · completed

  11. Jul 1, 2026

    Authorized distribution rates became effective

    official commission · completed

  12. Jul 8, 2026

    Reconsideration granted pending merits review

    official commission · completed

Documents

Docket and evidence documents linked to this proceeding.

PPL Electric rate case docket

official docket · primary ·

Open document ↗

Opinion and order on petition for reconsideration

evidence · primary · Jul 8, 2026

Open document ↗

PPL Electric compliance tariff — LP-6 service agreement terms

evidence · primary · Jun 30, 2026

Open document ↗

PPL Electric compliance tariff — LP-6 service terms

evidence · primary · Jun 30, 2026

Open document ↗

PPL Electric compliance tariff — LP-6 eligibility

evidence · primary · Jun 30, 2026

Open document ↗

PPL Electric rewrite opinion and order — capital positions

evidence · primary · Jun 11, 2026

Open document ↗

PPL Electric rewrite opinion and order

evidence · primary · Jun 11, 2026

Open document ↗

PPL Electric rewrite opinion and order — revenue and implementation

evidence · primary · Jun 11, 2026

Open document ↗

PPL Electric rewrite opinion and order — adoption and entry

evidence · primary · Jun 11, 2026

Open document ↗

PPL Electric final opinion and order

evidence · primary · Jun 11, 2026

Open document ↗

PPL Electric 2026 settlement — amended Appendix C bill impacts

evidence · direct · Apr 1, 2026

Open document ↗

Joint petition for non-unanimous settlement

evidence · primary · Mar 13, 2026

Open document ↗

PPL Electric current tariff table of contents

evidence · primary ·

Open document ↗

Citations

Field-level excerpts and review metadata supporting material facts.

PPL Electric final opinion and order

commission order · Jun 11, 2026

PPL Electric 2026 settlement — amended Appendix C bill impacts

settlement exhibit · Apr 1, 2026

PPL Electric rewrite opinion and order — capital positions

commission order · Jun 11, 2026

PPL Electric compliance tariff — LP-6 eligibility

commission filing · Jun 30, 2026

PPL Electric final opinion and order

commission order · Jun 11, 2026

PPL Electric compliance tariff — LP-6 service terms

commission filing · Jun 30, 2026

PPL Electric rate case docket

commission docket ·

PPL Electric rewrite opinion and order — capital positions

commission order · Jun 11, 2026

PPL Electric rewrite opinion and order — adoption and entry

commission order · Jun 11, 2026

PPL Electric rewrite opinion and order

commission order · Jun 11, 2026

PPL Electric rewrite opinion and order — revenue and implementation

commission order · Jun 11, 2026

Opinion and order on petition for reconsideration

commission order · Jul 8, 2026

Joint petition for non-unanimous settlement

commission filing · Mar 13, 2026

Raw observations

Stage-preserving economics and party positions as published in the canonical record.

MetricStagePartyPeriodValueEvidence
Large Load Credit Collateralmechanism authorizedPennsylvania Public Utility CommissionSecurity equal to rate-base cost of required upgrades
Large Load Eligibility Thresholdmechanism authorizedPennsylvania Public Utility Commission50 MW single site · 75 MW aggregate within 10 miles
Large Load Exit Feemechanism authorizedPennsylvania Public Utility CommissionGreater of remaining minimum-load obligation or security obligation
Large Load Generation Resource Costsmechanism authorizedPennsylvania Public Utility CommissionNot identified in the reviewed LP-6 sources
Large Load Infrastructure Cost Responsibilitymechanism authorizedPennsylvania Public Utility CommissionAdvance milestone payments for directly assigned upgrades
Large Load Minimum Contract Termmechanism authorizedPennsylvania Public Utility Commission10 years
Large Load Minimum Paymentmechanism authorizedPennsylvania Public Utility CommissionFirm 80% then 50% · interruptible 60% then 30% Minimum-demand percentages step down after years one through five of the service agreement.
Residential monthly bill impactsettlementparties-ppl-settlementFully projected future test year ending June 30, 20274.9%
Rate baseauthorizedPennsylvania Public Utility CommissionFully projected future test year ending June 30, 2027Not specified
Overall rate of returnauthorizedPennsylvania Public Utility CommissionFully projected future test year ending June 30, 2027Not specified
Common equity ratioauthorizedPennsylvania Public Utility CommissionNot specified
Common equity ratioutility requestPPL Electric Utilities Corporation56.05%
Annual revenue changeauthorizedPennsylvania Public Utility Commission$275M
Annual revenue changeutility requestPPL Electric Utilities Corporation$356.27M
Annual revenue changesettlementparties-ppl-settlement$275M
Return on equityauthorizedPennsylvania Public Utility CommissionNot specified
Return on equityother intervenorparty-cause-pa9.4%
Return on equityutility requestPPL Electric Utilities Corporation11.3%