Skip to content
RateBase
← All cases

OH · gas · 24-862-GA-AIR

Cumberland Gas — 2024 general rate case

Closed case·Complete·Authorized

Bottom line

This matter is decided, not open. RateBase does not label the rates final-effective until a cited effective-date or tariff record is linked.

Case summary

The PUCO approved the final opinion and order on February 18, 2026. The reviewed public record establishes a residential fixed-charge increase from $10 to $14 but does not state the complete authorized revenue and ROE values.

Latest development
PUCO approved final opinion and order

Feb 18, 2026

Next event
No scheduled event

Not scheduled

Case stage

Regulatory process

complete

  1. Filed

    Oct 3, 2024

  2. Testimony

    Not recorded

  3. Hearings

    Not recorded

  4. Briefing

    Not recorded

  5. Decision

    Feb 18, 2026

  6. Rates effective

    Not recorded

State rules

Base-rate reviews and adjustment mechanisms in Ohio

This docket is a full base-rate review. Selected charges can change on separate schedules without reopening every issue in this case.

Full base-rate review

Every three years beginning by year-end 2029

Effective Mar 20, 2026

Covered large natural-gas utilities must file a rate case by December 31, 2029 and at least every three years thereafter.

Rate period: A utility may use a conventional 12-month test period or propose three consecutive 12-month forecasted rate years with annual true-ups.

Governing rule ↗

Between full reviews

Natural-gas alternative rate plans

Plan-specific

PUCO-approved alternative rate plans may include revenue decoupling and other defined adjustments. The approved plan controls the calculation, reporting, and review cadence.

Governing source ↗
View the full Ohio regulatory framework →

Commission decision

Economics

Utility request and Commission-authorized outcome.

MetricUtility requestAuthorized outcomeLike-for-like difference
Annual revenue increase

Not available

Annual utility request

Not specified

Authorized annual revenue change in the Commission minutes · Feb 18, 2026

Not compared: scope differ

Rate base

Not available

Not captured in current case sources

Not available

Authorized value not captured

Return on equity

Not specified

Requested ROE in the final-decision source · Oct 3, 2024

Not specified

Authorized ROE in the Commission minutes · Feb 18, 2026

Not compared: scope differ

Common equity ratio

Not available

Not captured in current case sources

Not available

Authorized value not captured

Residential bill impact

Not available

Not captured in current case sources

4

Residential fixed monthly charge increase from $10 to $14 · Feb 18, 2026

Full docket record

1 event · 1 document · 1 citation

View record
Last updated
Jul 20, 2026
Docket reviewed
Jul 20, 2026
Economics reviewed
Jul 20, 2026
Official documents
1
Evidence citations
1

Docket history

Material filings, hearings, orders, and effective dates.

  1. Feb 18, 2026

    PUCO approved final opinion and order

    official commission · completed

Documents

Docket and evidence documents linked to this proceeding.

PUCO February 18, 2026 commission minutes

evidence · direct · Feb 18, 2026

Open document ↗

Citations

Field-level excerpts and review metadata supporting material facts.

PUCO February 18, 2026 commission minutes

commission order · Feb 18, 2026

Raw observations

Stage-preserving economics and party positions as published in the canonical record.

MetricStagePartyPeriodValueEvidence
Annual revenue changeauthorizedPublic Utilities Commission of OhioNot specified
Return on equityauthorizedPublic Utilities Commission of OhioNot specified
Residential monthly bill impactauthorizedPublic Utilities Commission of Ohio4
Annual revenue changeutility requestCumberland Gas CompanyNot specified
Return on equityutility requestCumberland Gas CompanyNot specified