Skip to content
RateBase
← All cases

OH · electric · 25-958-EL-AIR

AES Ohio — 2025 general rate case

Case summary

OCC identifies 25-0958-EL-AIR as AES Ohio's open multi-year electric distribution rate case.

Latest development
Local public hearing

Jul 16, 2026

Next event
Evidentiary hearing

Aug 4, 2026

Case stage

Regulatory process

testimony

  1. Filed

    Nov 10, 2025

  2. Testimony

    Current stage

  3. Hearings

    Aug 4, 2026

  4. Briefing

    Not recorded

  5. Decision

    Not recorded

  6. Rates effective

    Not recorded

State rules

Base-rate reviews and adjustment mechanisms in Ohio

This docket is a full base-rate review. Selected charges can change on separate schedules without reopening every issue in this case.

Full base-rate review

Every three years beginning by year-end 2029

Effective Aug 14, 2025

Each electric distribution utility must file a distribution rate case by December 31, 2029 and at least every three years thereafter.

Rate period: A utility may use a conventional 12-month test period or propose three consecutive 12-month forecasted rate years with annual true-ups.

Governing rule ↗

Between full reviews

Transmission Cost Recovery Rider

Annual update

The TCRR passes approved transmission-related charges through a reconcilable rider. Utilities file annual updates under the PUCO's rider rules.

Governing source ↗

Electric Security Plan riders

Plan- and rider-specific

An approved electric security plan can include infrastructure, modernization, and other riders with their own update and review schedules rather than waiting for the next distribution base-rate case.

Governing source ↗
View the full Ohio regulatory framework →

Current case economics

Economics

Filed request and any outcome captured in this docket.

MetricUtility requestCurrent case outcomeLike-for-like difference
Annual revenue increase

Multi-year

Annual utility request

Not available

No outcome yet

Rate base

Not specified

Rate year 2027 · Nov 12, 2025

Not available

No outcome yet

Return on equity

10.1%

Rate year 2027 · Nov 12, 2025

Not available

No outcome yet

Common equity ratio

Not specified

Rate year 2027 · Nov 12, 2025

Not available

No outcome yet

Residential bill impact

Not specified

Rate year 2027 · Nov 12, 2025

Not available

No outcome yet

Utility context

Prior authorizations, mechanism values, actuals, and company projections are shown separately because they are not default like-for-like case comparisons.

Common equity ratio

authorized · AES Ohio electric distribution capital structure approved in the 2024 distribution rate case settlement. · Nov 5, 2025

53.87%

Rate base

authorized · AES Ohio electric distribution rate base approved in the 2024 distribution rate case settlement. · Nov 5, 2025

$1,250M

Return on equity

authorized · AES Ohio electric distribution return on equity approved in the 2024 distribution rate case settlement. · Nov 5, 2025

10%

Full docket record

3 events · 3 documents · 1 citation

View record
Last updated
Jul 20, 2026
Docket reviewed
Jul 20, 2026
Economics reviewed
Jul 20, 2026
Official documents
3
Evidence citations
1

Docket history

Material filings, hearings, orders, and effective dates.

  1. Jul 9, 2026

    Local public hearing

    official commission · completed

  2. Jul 16, 2026

    Local public hearing

    official commission · completed

  3. Aug 4, 2026

    Evidentiary hearing

    official commission · scheduled

Documents

Docket and evidence documents linked to this proceeding.

PUCO docket 25-958

official docket · direct ·

Open document ↗

Ohio Consumers' Counsel AES Ohio rate-case page

official docket · primary ·

Open document ↗

AES Ohio three-year rate-plan application

evidence · direct · Nov 10, 2025

Open document ↗

Citations

Field-level excerpts and review metadata supporting material facts.

AES Ohio three-year rate-plan application

commission filing · Nov 10, 2025

Raw observations

Stage-preserving economics and party positions as published in the canonical record.

MetricStagePartyPeriodValueEvidence
Common equity ratioutility requestThe Dayton Power and Light Company d/b/a AES OhioRate year 2027Not specified
Overall rate of returnutility requestThe Dayton Power and Light Company d/b/a AES OhioRate year 2027Not specified
Rate baseutility requestThe Dayton Power and Light Company d/b/a AES OhioRate year 2027Not specified
Residential monthly bill impactutility requestThe Dayton Power and Light Company d/b/a AES OhioRate year 2027Not specified
Annual revenue changeutility requestThe Dayton Power and Light Company d/b/a AES OhioRate year 2027$169.82M
Annual revenue changeutility requestThe Dayton Power and Light Company d/b/a AES OhioRate year 2028$41.38M
Annual revenue changeutility requestThe Dayton Power and Light Company d/b/a AES OhioRate year 2029$26.25M
Return on equityutility requestThe Dayton Power and Light Company d/b/a AES OhioRate year 202710.1%