Skip to content
RateBase
← All cases

NJ · gas · GR25110627

South Jersey Gas — 2025 general rate case

Bottom line

The case is pending. The tracker preserves the initial request rather than replacing it with the later update, and no settlement or authorized outcome is reported.

Case summary

South Jersey Gas initially requested approximately $74.71 million in additional annual revenue and a 10.00 percent return on equity. A February 2026 update reduced the requested increase to $67.80 million. The Board entered a second suspension order on April 22, 2026 while the case remained before the Office of Administrative Law.

Latest development
Board further suspended the proposed rates

Apr 22, 2026

Next event
No scheduled event

Not scheduled

Case stage

Regulatory process

investigation opened

  1. Filed

    Nov 26, 2025

  2. Testimony

    Not recorded

  3. Hearings

    Not recorded

  4. Briefing

    Not recorded

  5. Decision

    Not recorded

  6. Rates effective

    Not recorded

State rules

Base-rate reviews and adjustment mechanisms in New Jersey

This docket is a full base-rate review. Selected charges can change on separate schedules without reopening every issue in this case.

Full base-rate review

Case-specific; program deadlines can apply

New Jersey does not use one recurring base-case interval for every utility. Board-approved infrastructure programs can require the participating utility to file its next base-rate case within five years or sooner.

Rate period: Normally established in the utility's base-rate filing; infrastructure-program recoveries remain provisional until prudence is reviewed in the next base case.

Governing rule ↗

Between full reviews

Infrastructure Investment Program

Annual or semiannual recovery

A Board-approved IIP permits accelerated recovery for qualifying in-service infrastructure through a separate tariff clause. Rates are provisional and the utility must return for a base case no later than five years after program approval.

Governing source ↗

Conservation Incentive Program

Periodic true-up

An approved CIP adjusts gas revenues for usage changes associated with conservation and weather, separating part of utility recovery from sales volume. Its terms are utility- and order-specific.

Governing source ↗
View the full New Jersey regulatory framework →

Current case economics

Economics

Filed request and any outcome captured in this docket.

MetricUtility requestCurrent case outcomeLike-for-like difference
Annual revenue increase

$74.71M

Annual utility request

Not available

No outcome yet

Rate base

$2,914.6M

Test year ended March 31, 2026 with post-test adjustments through September 30, 2026 · Feb 13, 2026

Not available

No outcome yet

Return on equity

10%

Prior authorized observation · Nov 26, 2025

Not available

No outcome yet

Common equity ratio

Not specified

Test year ended March 31, 2026 with post-test adjustments through September 30, 2026 · Feb 13, 2026

Not available

No outcome yet

Residential bill impact

Not specified

Test year ended March 31, 2026 with post-test adjustments through September 30, 2026 · Feb 13, 2026

Not available

No outcome yet

Utility context

Prior authorizations, mechanism values, actuals, and company projections are shown separately because they are not default like-for-like case comparisons.

Annual revenue change

authorized · Prior authorized observation · Dec 21, 2022

$25M

Common equity ratio

authorized · Authorized common-equity share of capitalization · Dec 21, 2022

54%

Rate base

authorized · Authorized base-rate rate base · Dec 21, 2022

$2,394.12M

Return on equity

authorized · Authorized return on common equity · Dec 21, 2022

9.6%

Full docket record

3 events · 4 documents · 3 citations

View record
Last updated
Jul 20, 2026
Docket reviewed
Jul 20, 2026
Economics reviewed
Jul 20, 2026
Official documents
4
Evidence citations
3

Docket history

Material filings, hearings, orders, and effective dates.

  1. Nov 26, 2025

    Base rate petition filed

    official commission · completed

  2. Dec 17, 2025

    Board entered first suspension order

    official commission · completed

  3. Apr 22, 2026

    Board further suspended the proposed rates

    official commission · completed

Documents

Docket and evidence documents linked to this proceeding.

NJBPU public docket — case-nj-bpu-gr25110627

official docket · direct ·

Open document ↗

NJBPU second suspension order for South Jersey Gas 2025 base rate case

evidence · primary · Apr 22, 2026

Open document ↗

South Jersey Gas 9-and-3 update

evidence · direct · Feb 13, 2026

Open document ↗

NJBPU first suspension order for South Jersey Gas 2025 base rate case

evidence · primary · Dec 17, 2025

Open document ↗

Citations

Field-level excerpts and review metadata supporting material facts.

South Jersey Gas 9-and-3 update

utility rate case exhibit · Feb 13, 2026

NJBPU first suspension order for South Jersey Gas 2025 base rate case

commission order · Dec 17, 2025

NJBPU second suspension order for South Jersey Gas 2025 base rate case

commission order · Apr 22, 2026

Raw observations

Stage-preserving economics and party positions as published in the canonical record.

MetricStagePartyPeriodValueEvidence
Annual revenue changeutility requestSouth Jersey Gas CompanyTest year ended March 31, 2026 with post-test adjustments through September 30, 2026$67.8M
Residential monthly bill impactutility requestSouth Jersey Gas CompanyTest year ended March 31, 2026 with post-test adjustments through September 30, 2026Not specified
Common equity ratioutility requestSouth Jersey Gas CompanyTest year ended March 31, 2026 with post-test adjustments through September 30, 2026Not specified
Overall rate of returnutility requestSouth Jersey Gas CompanyTest year ended March 31, 2026 with post-test adjustments through September 30, 20267.96%
Rate baseutility requestSouth Jersey Gas CompanyTest year ended March 31, 2026 with post-test adjustments through September 30, 2026$2,914.6M
Annual revenue changeutility requestparty-utility$74.71M
Return on equityutility requestparty-utility10%