Skip to content
RateBase
← All cases

TX · electric · 54634

SPS Texas — general rate case

Closed case·Complete·Authorized

Case summary

No case narrative is published.

Latest development
PUCT entered final order approving the unopposed agreement

Apr 11, 2024

Next event
No scheduled event

Not scheduled

Case stage

Regulatory process

complete

  1. Filed

    Not recorded

  2. Testimony

    Not recorded

  3. Hearings

    Not recorded

  4. Briefing

    Not recorded

  5. Decision

    Apr 11, 2024

  6. Rates effective

    Current stage

State rules

Base-rate reviews and adjustment mechanisms in Texas

This docket is a full base-rate review. Selected charges can change on separate schedules without reopening every issue in this case.

Full base-rate review

At least every four years

A regulated electric utility generally must initiate a comprehensive base-rate proceeding at least once every four years, subject to the statutory waiver process.

Rate period: Historical test year in the comprehensive rate filing.

Governing rule ↗

Between full reviews

Distribution Cost Recovery Factor

Up to twice per year

A DCRF updates distribution rates for eligible capital investment placed in service since the last comprehensive rate case. The investment is reconciled in a later base-rate proceeding.

Governing source ↗
View the full Texas regulatory framework →

Commission decision

Economics

Utility request and Commission-authorized outcome.

MetricUtility requestAuthorized outcomeLike-for-like difference
Annual revenue increase

Not available

Annual utility request

Not specified

Total company rate-case request or Commission-authorized outcome · Apr 11, 2024

Rate base

Not available

Not captured in current case sources

Not available

Authorized value not captured

Return on equity

Not specified

Total company rate-case request or Commission-authorized outcome · Apr 11, 2024

9.55%

Authorized only for AFUDC, PUCT proceedings requiring a stated WACC, and the specified Hale and Sagamore wind-project calculation · Apr 11, 2024

Not compared: scope differ

Common equity ratio

Not available

Not captured in current case sources

54.51%

Authorized only for AFUDC, PUCT proceedings requiring a stated WACC, and the specified Hale and Sagamore wind-project calculation · Apr 11, 2024

Residential bill impact

Not available

Not captured in current case sources

Not available

Authorized value not captured

Utility context

Prior authorizations, mechanism values, actuals, and company projections are shown separately because they are not default like-for-like case comparisons.

Rate base

disclosed actual · SPS company-estimated total rate base across Texas and New Mexico operations. · Dec 31, 2025

$9,100M

Full docket record

1 event · 2 documents · 1 citation

View record
Last updated
Jul 20, 2026
Docket reviewed
Jul 20, 2026
Economics reviewed
Jul 20, 2026
Official documents
2
Evidence citations
1

Docket history

Material filings, hearings, orders, and effective dates.

  1. Apr 11, 2024

    PUCT entered final order approving the unopposed agreement

    official commission · completed

Documents

Docket and evidence documents linked to this proceeding.

PUCT final order in Southwestern Public Service Company Docket 54634

evidence · direct · Apr 11, 2024

Open document ↗

PUCT filing interchange for Docket 54634

evidence · primary · Feb 8, 2023

Open document ↗

Citations

Field-level excerpts and review metadata supporting material facts.

PUCT final order in Southwestern Public Service Company Docket 54634

final order · Apr 11, 2024

Raw observations

Stage-preserving economics and party positions as published in the canonical record.

MetricStagePartyPeriodValueEvidence
Annual revenue changeauthorizedparty-commissionNot specified
Annual revenue changeutility requestSouthwestern Public Service Company — TexasNot specified
Return on equityutility requestSouthwestern Public Service Company — TexasNot specified
Common equity ratioauthorizedPublic Utility Commission of Texas54.51%
Return on equityauthorizedPublic Utility Commission of Texas9.55%