Skip to content
RateBase
← All cases

OH · electric · 26-347-EL-AIR

Ohio Edison — 2026 general rate case

Case summary

OCC's filing archive identifies 26-0347-EL-AIR as the FirstEnergy Ohio utilities' open distribution rate case.

Latest development
No completed event

Not scheduled

Next event
No scheduled event

Not scheduled

Case stage

Regulatory process

filed

  1. Filed

    May 22, 2026

  2. Testimony

    Not recorded

  3. Hearings

    Not recorded

  4. Briefing

    Not recorded

  5. Decision

    Not recorded

  6. Rates effective

    Not recorded

State rules

Base-rate reviews and adjustment mechanisms in Ohio

This docket is a full base-rate review. Selected charges can change on separate schedules without reopening every issue in this case.

Full base-rate review

Every three years beginning by year-end 2029

Effective Aug 14, 2025

Each electric distribution utility must file a distribution rate case by December 31, 2029 and at least every three years thereafter.

Rate period: A utility may use a conventional 12-month test period or propose three consecutive 12-month forecasted rate years with annual true-ups.

Governing rule ↗

Between full reviews

Transmission Cost Recovery Rider

Annual update

The TCRR passes approved transmission-related charges through a reconcilable rider. Utilities file annual updates under the PUCO's rider rules.

Governing source ↗

Electric Security Plan riders

Plan- and rider-specific

An approved electric security plan can include infrastructure, modernization, and other riders with their own update and review schedules rather than waiting for the next distribution base-rate case.

Governing source ↗
View the full Ohio regulatory framework →

Current case economics

Economics

Filed request and any outcome captured in this docket.

MetricUtility requestCurrent case outcomeLike-for-like difference
Annual revenue increase

Multi-year

Annual utility request

Not available

No outcome yet

Rate base

$5,900M

Rate year beginning July 1, 2029 · May 22, 2026

Not available

No outcome yet

Return on equity

10.2%

Rate year beginning July 1, 2027 · May 22, 2026

Not available

No outcome yet

Common equity ratio

53%

Rate year beginning July 1, 2027 · May 22, 2026

Not available

No outcome yet

Residential bill impact

Not specified

Rate year beginning July 1, 2027 · May 22, 2026

Not available

No outcome yet

Utility context

Prior authorizations, mechanism values, actuals, and company projections are shown separately because they are not default like-for-like case comparisons.

Annual revenue change

authorized · Prior authorized observation · Feb 18, 2026

−$5.3M

Common equity ratio

authorized · PUCO-authorized hypothetical Ohio Companies distribution capital structure. · Nov 19, 2025

51.2%

Rate base

disclosed actual · Ohio Edison distribution rate base at year-end 2025. · Dec 31, 2025

$2,000M

Return on equity

authorized · PUCO-authorized Ohio Companies distribution ROE. · Nov 19, 2025

9.63%

Full docket record

0 events · 2 documents · 1 citation

View record
Last updated
Jul 20, 2026
Docket reviewed
Jul 20, 2026
Economics reviewed
Jul 20, 2026
Official documents
2
Evidence citations
1

Docket history

Material filings, hearings, orders, and effective dates.

No material docket events are published for this case.

Documents

Docket and evidence documents linked to this proceeding.

PUCO docket 26-347

official docket · direct ·

Open document ↗

FirstEnergy spring 2026 investor update

evidence · direct · May 22, 2026

Open document ↗

Citations

Field-level excerpts and review metadata supporting material facts.

FirstEnergy spring 2026 investor update

sec filing · May 22, 2026

Raw observations

Stage-preserving economics and party positions as published in the canonical record.

MetricStagePartyPeriodValueEvidence
Common equity ratioutility requestOhio Edison CompanyRate year beginning July 1, 202753%
Overall rate of returnutility requestOhio Edison CompanyRate year beginning July 1, 2027Not specified
Rate baseutility requestOhio Edison CompanyRate year beginning July 1, 2027$5,100M
Rate baseutility requestOhio Edison CompanyRate year beginning July 1, 2028$5,500M
Rate baseutility requestOhio Edison CompanyRate year beginning July 1, 2029$5,900M
Residential monthly bill impactutility requestOhio Edison CompanyRate year beginning July 1, 2027Not specified
Return on equityutility requestOhio Edison CompanyRate year beginning July 1, 202710.2%
Annual revenue changeutility requestOhio Edison CompanyRate year beginning July 1, 2027$254M
Annual revenue changeutility requestOhio Edison CompanyRate year beginning July 1, 2028$58.8M
Annual revenue changeutility requestOhio Edison CompanyRate year beginning July 1, 2029$79.5M